When Technique Breaks Down

Have you ever said, “It’s normal for technique to breakdown”?

It is a normal process for athletes to become exhausted, and in return their technique will start to fail. However, an athlete who truly understands Olympic weightlifting technique to the point of not having to think much about it will ALWAYS out last someone who hasn’t received or taken the time for the same training. I’m making this point thinking about heavy weight. I want to remind everyone about the two different videos… 303 lbs Grace – Zach Krych and Rob Orlando.

I encourage you to watch both.


(Click Here for Video of Zach Krych)


(Click Here for Video of Rob Orlando)

Because Zach was able to operate under much better technique he was able to cut his time SIGNIFICANTLY! Also, if you watch the full version there were no misses. I’m not picking on Rob Orlando by any means. Strong athlete and notable performance. I’m only highlighting the benefit of build a strong foundation of good weightlifting technique. I feel the point to make as coaches is to not let athlete scrum to lazy thinking.

Bad thought:
“I just can’t get this… Poor technique happens and its normal.”

Replace it with:
“This won’t happen over night, but if I put in the work I’ll move better, safer, and weights will feel better than ever!”

In this thought we’ve put together a learning resource to support gyms with this belief.

It is due to launch very soon!

Stay tuned… more updates to come!

Leave a comment